Who can??….Ve-gan!!

One night in December of 2012, while on the phone with a friend, I declared I was giving up my consumption of animals and their by-products. I said how that day was my last day living that lifestyle. Now, to be honest, this decision (although 2 years in the making) was made having nothing prepped. I probably still had butter in my fridge. By this point, I had pretty much given up cow’s milk, didn’t eat a lot of meat, and eggs were never really a major staple of my diet. However, I was ready emotionally, so it was time. So, my lifestyle made a 180 degree change overnight.

So what does vegan mean? Well, let’s start with what it’s not. It is NOT a diet and it doesn’t mean simply not eating animals. Merriam-Webster defines vegan as meaning: a strict vegetarian who consumes no food (as meat, eggs, or dairy products) that comes from animals; also: one who abstains from using animal products (as leather). Basically, not using animals for one’s wants and needs. This includes, but is not limited to, the circus, zoos, testing for our products, cultural events or religious ceremonies, clothing, and food. And these only scratch the surface. Many “uses” of animals and the morality of each are debated in the vegan/animal abolition movement.

My initial reason for going vegan was for the animals. After more and more research, I started learning of the actual impact using animals has on not only the animals themselves (which should go without stating), but how it’s also impacting us and other species not generally consumed by humans, and the planet as well. The system of animal usage is extremely destructive, completely unsustainable, and is the #1 contributor to greenhouse gases and climate change.

I found a couple of resources providing easy steps to eliminate animals from my diet. I had already been using cruelty-free personal products and wasn’t currently a fan of fur or leather, so the food was the major step to complete the transition. I also eat fairly simply (with awesome meals mixed in), which was easy for me to begin.

I must say how grateful I am for making this choice (every day). I have tried and enjoyed more foods than ever before. I’ve had my eyes opened to our relationship with food and its impact. I feel lighter and cleaner (except on days with a trip to Glam Doll Donuts). And my conscience is at peace knowing no one has had to give up his or her life for my personal choices.

So ask yourself…

If we could live happy and healthy without harming others…why wouldn’t we?

If you think cruelty to living, sentient beings is wrong, consider going vegan.

I will provide any information to those who want to know more. Let me know if you need tips to get started. I will walk you through this transition to make it super easy.

 

Goditi la Vita!

KKC

 

Leave a Reply

